Bry’s Marathon Mission

For the last six months, I’ve given up my life with the London Marathon as my aim and the endgoal. For so long it has been a distant goal and something that I’m having to flog my guts out to get anywhere near achieving and whilst it has been a distant goal, it hasn’t worried me unduly as I know I’m constantly training to get nearer to my ambition of completing a marathon.

Last week a major milestone occurred that makes it much more of a reality; the 22nd March came and went and suddenly the Marathon was weeks away and no longer months. As I write this, it is 23 days away and yes, that’s just three weekends between me and the biggest test of physical and mental strength/endurance of my life. As you might be able to tell from the tone, I’ve gone from being quite blase about the whole caboodle to feeling nervous, intimidated, terrified – you name it, I’ve probably felt it!

Last Saturday John and I ran 20 miles. Oh yes, you heard it right – I found someone else willing to be dragged into my hare brained plans. And at that point, he wasn’t even training for a marathon! It was a beautiful sunny day and so the shorts came out, we each packed 4 energy gels, a bundle of caffeinated sweets and the emergency credit card and set off on the longest run of our lives. Neither of us had ever run that far and I think it’s fair to say that stopping was by far the best moment of it! The sun was really beating down on us and so as soon as our watches instructed us to stop, we fell into the nearest shop to buy water and ice lollies!

At the time of finishing, my legs felt like they were ceasing up, I felt dehydrated and genuinely wondered if I had another 6.2 miles left in me. But as always with running. after about half an hour, I’d forgotten the aches and pains and was busy wondering how I could run faster and longer. I find it simply amazing that we ran for 3 hours and 5 minutes, most of which was spent blocking out some form of pain, but yet within an hour of finishing, I felt invincible and of course I could run faster and further than I did that day. I think the endorphin rush must send my head a bit strange!

So I’ve now run my longest run and received my registration pack through in the post. I just have to keep ticking along for another three weeks, avoiding injury and keeping myself fresh. Essentially, if I’m not ready now, I never will be. And if I panic and do more to try and get ready, I’m likely to do more harm than good. So now I’m meant to sit quietly and relax, but underneath I’m bubbling with anxiety having no idea if I’m ready and how am I going to know? The only way I’ll find out is by running 26.2 miles, which I can’t do before the marathon because that would take too much out of my body. I just have to trust everyone that tells me the crowd and the excitement will carry me another 6 miles. Even though another 6 miles is about another 50 minutes of running! (By the way, anyone that reads this does qualify for a counselling fee!)

Other than the minor mental breakdown the imminent long run seems to be causing me, everything is going well. Fundraising is going exceptionally well with over £1000 raised now! I find it astounding how generous everyone has been. People I barely know have sponsored me, which just blows me away. I guess doing something like this really shows you just how amazing people can be – and to everyone that has sponsored me, no matter how big or small the amount, I have so much to thank you for! And I tell you what, when the going gets tough and I want to jack it in, the fact I’ve taken £1033.40 of everyone’s money is enough to make sure I finish that race, even if I have to crawl over the finish line! (Plus I really want that medal!) Of course, if you haven’t sponsored me yet, you can do at www.virginmoneygiving.com/bryonyharper Or even if you just pop over to check out the amazing, lovely and inspirational messages everyone has left, it’s good stuff!

Next time you hear from me, it’ll probably be single figures until the big day! And then I have to work out what to do next – the London Marathon has been my aim for so long, I don’t quite know what I’ll do without it!

 

Link

Leave a Reply

