Which is best? The hearty head or the heady heart?

Should I follow my head or my heart?

For every question, there are two answers: the sensible and the fantastical. I have always been a dreamer and wanted my life to lead it’s own extraordinary path; the reality that I have a bog standard office job with a bog standard life at the end of it, is just a little too harsh to think about. Away from the strip lighting of the office, I can consider that I am a creative, trapped by the societal norm. That is obviously total rubbish, but it’s nice to think that there is more to life than, well, this.

It may come as a surprise to some of you, but I can be a little bit geeky over material possessions; I completely understand Stephen Fry and his fellow Apple admirers because although Apple doesn’t float my boat, I am the same. When it came to renewing my phone this year, I could have continued to pay £20 a month and for that, I would get a brand new, fully functioning, perfectly adequate phone. Or I could go up to £30 a month and get a phone that does exactly the same, with a ludicrously short battery life, but it is extremely shiny and pretty. Of course, I went for the pretty HTC Desire and have to charge my phone every day. The things we do for love.

Ever since I have moved on to a permanent contract at work, I have known that I need to replace my car. Now, in my dream world, I would love to buy a Mazda 2 or an Alfa, but we have to be realistic. My funds, both for the initial purchase and for insurance, are incredibly limited, so I turn back to the trusty Hyundai. My little Getz has done 90,000 miles and is still going strong and you get a 5 year warranty with the Hyundai, which is not to be sniffed at. I quite like their new range of i20s and i30s. With all my money scraped together and a little bit of generosity afforded to my Getz, I can just about afford a reasonably new i20. So, there is one for sale at the Wycombe dealership for £7795, which is a steel grey, 1.2, 09 plate with 9000 miles on the clock. Or there is a 1.2, electric green, 59 plate with 200 miles for £7995 in Chatham.

Now I have heard all of the arguments for not buying a ridiculous bright green car; my head tells me that it is cheaper, eighty miles nearer and a far, far easier colour to sell, but I love the colour of the green one. In reality, I would like to own a car that says something about me and as I can’t afford that, the mad colour will have to compensate it. It is my attempt at being wild, whilst being sensible. I like to think of it as a tongue in cheek way of going with my head.

I have to be honest now; I wrote the first half of this blog before the weekend and unfortunately, I just cannot afford to go with my heart this time. The dealer in High Wycombe gave me a far, far better price for my car and knocked some off the new one, whereas the dealers in Snodland (yes really, Snodland) offered me about £500 less for my car and would not budge on the price. It’s sad to admit it, but I’ve had to come to terms with going with my head. In a really pathetic way of trying to jazz it up, I have talked them into getting some pink and purple flower stickers on it for me. Yes, I’m aware it’s not so much wacky as chav, but it makes me feel a tiny bit better.

I am very poor at making sensible decisions and tend to do the first thing that flies into my head, so this will be a real experience for me. To be honest, I’m not too disappointed because at the end of the day I’m getting a new car and the grey one is still very nice. Plus, it has a 5 year warranty on it. How can I complain? I will obviously keep you updated when I pick it up next week and see it’s pretty flowers for the first time. I think that at the crux of every decision that is made by the head and not the heart, you will see a person bored with their mundane life and daring themselves to be wild. I’ll never be wild, but at least I’ll sell my sensible car for a sensible price to a sensible driver five or six years down the line.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Grace
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 15:55:06

    Sure there will be other opportunities for you to purchase something which says something about you.
    Although that sentence raises the thought that you shouldn’t need a lime green car to make a statement about yourself because YOU are the statement about yourself.
    What you own is not what you are.
    I’ve gotten way too far ahead of myself.
    I must go for a lie-down.

    Reply

    • sillybry
      Aug 01, 2010 @ 08:10:11

      Don’t you worry – my grey car arrived yesterday, complete with its pink flowers. Amazing!
      I know that I shouldn’t rely on my material possessions to tell everyone who I am, but you can’t really help it. What you wear, what you carry, what you use, it’s all there for the world to see and normally, someones snap judgement of you is a result of those things and not you.
      I think I need a lie-down now too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

